Thu. Jun 13th, 2024

Boch News

We Report as it is

North Central Exits ACF, Forms North Central People Forum

2 min read
Share this story

Leaders from the North-Central geopolitical zone of Nigeria, have announced their exit from the Arewa Consultative Forum, citing the worsening insecurity in northern Nigeria.

The leaders announced the formation of the North Central Peoples Forum as a platform to fight insecurity and marginalisation.

The group, while addressing newsmen in Abuja on Wednesday, September 9, said in spite of the abundant mineral and human resources in the zone, the North-Central is bedevilled by vices, like kidnapping, banditry and other forms of criminality.

A notable member of the new formation, Gen. Jeremiah Useni informed newsmen that the existence of similar groups in other parts of the country had given rise to group affinity and solidarity among the states in a particular geopolitical zone to canvass things of common interest, adding that it will unite the people of Plateau, Benue, Kogi, Nasarawa, Federal Capital Territory, Kwara and Niger States.

According to him, “The forum is also aimed at ensuring cooperation and support for the good policies and administration of the six governors of the zone, irrespective of our political, religious and ethnic differences.

“We will support and cooperate fully with the Federal Government for full and complete implementation of infrastructures, development projects situated in the zone and the involvement of the people of the zone in the national affairs of the country.

“We will promote, defend and strengthen North Central unity and the interest of its people in the context of one indivisible Nigeria and to contribute to the safeguarding of her territorial integrity.

“Consequently, every zone now has a common socio-political platform where they meet to discuss their strength and weakness with the view to propounding and promoting progress and development of the zone”.

The new group is being led by a former Minister of State for Health, Gabriel Aduku, who is the interim chairman.

Other notable members are; former Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Senator Jerry Useni, Ibrahim Mantu, a former Military Administrator of Kwara State, Col. David Bamigboye (retd.), and a former deputy chief of staff to the President, Chief Olusola Akomode.

The list also included the Publisher of Leadership Newspaper, Sam Nda-Isaiah, a former Nigeria Ambassador to South Africa, Ahmed Ibeto, a media consultant, Alhaji Tajudeen Kareem, a former Deputy Governor of Benue State, Chief Stephen Lawani and Alhaji Alfa Mohammed, among others.

Share this story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2020 CHIMARIK GROUP LIMITED. All rights reserved.
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)